Dimajwe council candidate sails through

24 Oct 2014

Botswana Democratic Party's Ms Dilebo Kgosipula is the first winner of the 2014 general elections.

She was unopposed at Dimajwe councl ward in Serowe West. In an interview, the returning officer for Serowe West constituency, Ms Thobo Mapitse said during the nomination process, other council candidates failed to submit their names.

She said Ms Disebo was the only candidate who successfully went through the nomination process.

She said voters at Dimajwe were only voting for parliamentary candidates: Mr Tshekedi Khama of BDP, Mr Rolent Gambule of UDC, Mr Edwin Seabe of BCP, and Mr Keitireng Kebosenke, an independent candidate.

The presiding officer at Dimajwe kgotla polling station, Ms Sekopo Motlhagodi said there was no confusion as the voters already knew that they were only voting for an MP.

She said there was only one incident in which a voter was confused as to why she had to cast vote once. Ends

Source : BOPA

Author : BOPA

Location : SEROWE

Event : Elections

Date : 24 Oct 2014