Breaking News

Salary committee members take oath

16 Mar 2023

The inaugural standing committee on the remuneration of MPs, councillors, Ntlo ya Dikgosi members and specified offices has the onerous task of laying the groundwork and terms of references for future use. 

This was said by Minister for State President Mr Kabo Morwaeng when swearing in the nine-member committee in Gaborone yesterday. 

Mr Morwaeng said the committee, the country’s first, had an enormous task of setting precedence. 

Chaired by retired judge Justice Monametsi Gaongalelwe, he said the committee had the expertise and experience crucial for execution of its mandate. 

Mr Morwaeng said the members, Ms Maipelo Motshwane, Kgosi Segale Linchwe, Mr Charles Tibone, Ms Juliana White, Dr Lucas Gakale, Mr Tshokolo Timothy, Ms Seabo Keorapetse and Mr Berzack Maphakwane were individuals of high integrity. 

The minister advised the committee to leverage on best practices from others countries. 

Emphasising the need for the committee’s independence, he said autonomy was crucial for giving its work credibility in the eyes of the public. 

Mr Morwaeng gave the assurance that the committee would operate without any influence from politicians. 

He explained that the committee was established by an act of Parliament following a recommendation by the presidential commission on salary review chaired by Justice Gaongalelwe. 

According to the minister, the commission reasoned that it was not ideal for Parliament to review its own conditions of service, including remunerations. 

“As the government we resolved to implement the recommendation from the committee,” he said. 

Justice Gaongalelwe said previous committees on salaries and conditions of service for MPs, councillors and Ntlo Ya Dikgosi members worked on an ad hoc basis. 

“It is difficult and novel because we are not going to have specific terms of reference. The act gives us a broad mandate and we are to operate within that mandate,” he said. 

The standing committee’s tenure is three years. 

Ms Tebogo Mothei and Mr Nkosiyabo Moyo make up its secretariat. Ends

Source : BOPA

Author : Bonang Masolotate

Location : GABORONE

Event : Swearing in

Date : 16 Mar 2023