Breaking News

BBA announces Botswana teams

23 May 2023

Botswana Bowling Association will send two teams to represent Botswana at the Australian World Bowling championships slated for next year.

The men's team comprises Bavan Balendra, Andre Van Der Nalt, Binesh Desai, all from Francistown Bowling club. The other two are Dicks Senna and Mike Gabobewe, both from Selebi Phikwe Bowling Club.

The ladies team will be represented by Elandri Collington of Gaborone Bowling Club, Lesedi Mafoko and Molatedi Dauma, both from Francistown Bowling Club, and Mpopi Pelimo of Orapa Bowling Club.

Botswana teams were selected at the end of the 46th week long Botswana Bowling National Championships in Francistown over the weekend. Speaking during a prize giving ceremony on May 20, Botswana Bowling Association (BBA) president, Kitso Robert appealed to the two teams to look for sponsorship well on time.

Robert advised that since funding from the mother body, Botswana National Sport Commission (BNSC) did not come easy, each team member must seek sponsorship for themselves in order to participate at the world event.
"I therefore encourage you to look for sponsorship in order to participate at this wonderful event," said Robert, underscoring the need for self-sponsorship in order for athletes to develop.

He congratulated two Botswana bowlers, Pako Sephetsolo of Orapa Bowling Club and Lebogang Makhupe of Gaborone Bowling Club, who recently sponsored themselves to participate at the World Champions of Champions in Australia.

Speaking at the event, Kopano Copper Mine project director, Victor Bothie, said the mining company was committed to supporting sports development in the country, adding that the mine, which sponsored the event to the tune of P55 000 had entered into a marriage with BBA and would continue to invest in the sport code, funds permitting.

He appealed to other companies to follow suite and support sports because sports could promote value chain development. The event also saw the code selecting another two teams, both men and ladies, who will participate at the Namibian Africa States bowling tournament.

The men's team will be represented by Balendra and also player coach, Charles Diteko of Jwaneng Bowling Club, Edwin Nyoka of Orapa Bowling Club, Modisaotsile Mphotho of Selebi Phikwe Bowling Club, and Kabo  Gaboutoeloe of Francistown Bowling Club, all under manager Binesh Desai.

The ladies team comprises Tshenolo Moshokgo of Orapa Bowling Club, Collington and Dauma, Doreen Mololeki of Orapa Bowling Club,and Lesego Motladiile of Gaborone Bowling Club. The team will be guided by coach Gase Pabalelo.
Coaches of the four teams promised to bring home good results and pleaded with the business community to sponsor the two trips.  Ends 




Source : BOPA

Author : Thamani Shabani

Location : Francistown

Event : Prize giving

Date : 23 May 2023